čes | eng | fra | deu

World music CD DVD shop and Classic distribution


Remember Your Lovers - Songs by Tippett, Britten, Purcell & Pelham Humfrey

Remember Your Lovers  - Songs by Tippett, Britten, Purcell & Pelham Humfrey-Vocal and Piano-Vocal Collection
ID: SIGCD066 (EAN: 635212006627)  | 1 CD | DDD
Signum Records
Vocal Collection
Vocal and Piano
BRITTEN, Benjamin | HUMFREY, Pelham | PURCELL, Henry | TIPPETT, Michael
AINSLEY, John Mark (tenor) | BURNSIDE, Iain (piano)
Other info:

Sir Michael Tippett's great masterpieces - Boyhood's End and The Heart's Assurance - are coupled here with some of his editions of songs by Henry Purcell, and Benjamin Britten's companion piece to Boyhood's End - Canticle 1. Superbly performed by John Mark Ainsley and Iain Burnside, an added treat is the performance of Tippett and Bergman's edition of Pelham Humfrey's setting of John Donne's A Hymn to God the Father.

John Mark Ainsley is one of the world's leading tenors. He has worked with the Berlin Philharmonic, New York Philharmonic and the Vienna Philharmonic, and has appeared with the San Fransisco Opera, and as Der Daemon in the world premiere of Henze's L'Upupa.

Iain Burnside has performed with artists including Dame Margaret Price and Susan Chilcott. As a broadcaster he has recently won a Sony Radio Award.
TIPPETT, Michael (1905-1998) 
The Heart's Assurance 
1. Song2:55
2. The Heart's Assurance2:22
3. Compassion4:19
4. The Dancer2:13
5. Remember your lovers6:16
PURCELL, Henry (1659-1695) 
6. If music be the food of love2:03
TIPPETT, Michael (1905-1998) 
7. Music3:28
PURCELL, Henry (1659-1695) 
8. Music for a while3:23
TIPPETT, Michael (1905-1998) 
9. Boyhood's End12:32
PURCELL, Henry (1659-1695) 
10. Sweeter than roses3:28
11. An evening hymn3:54
BRITTEN, Benjamin (1913-1976) 
12. Canticle I7:37
PURCELL, Henry (1659-1695) 
13. An Epithalamium (A Wedding Song)2:41
14. What shall I do?1:34
15. 'Twas within a furlong of Edinburgh Town2:14
HUMFREY, Pelham (1647-1674) 
16. A Hymn to God the Father2:45
PURCELL, Henry (1659-1695) 
17. Ah! How Sweet it is to Love1:55
18. I attempt from love's sickness1:51
TIPPETT, Michael (1905-1998) 
Songs for Ariel 
19. Come unto these yellow sands1:53
20. Full fathom five2:03
21. Where the bee sucks1:17


"this inspirational recital by John Mark Ainsley and Iain Burnside ... imaginatively conceived disc, wonderfully performed" Evening Standard
"an excellent initiative ... This is a lovely CD and shows Ainsley's vocal talents off well" Musicweb
"wonderment ... you owe it to Ainsley for his quite marvellous singing throughout the programme, and the supple matching accompaniments by Iain Burnside" Hifi News
"Ainsley's voice is in prime form - it is effortless at the top of his range, and the seamless shift from full voice to falsetto is magical ... A wonderful selection of poets, from Alun Lewis to the comical Mr D'Urfey, makes this as valuable to connoisseurs of literature as of the voice" The Times Online


18.00 eur Buy

Customer: not signed in

Thematic search:
  • Titles
  • Composers
  • Interprets 
  • Ensembles
  • Conductors
  • Instruments
  • Genre
  • Labels
  • Collections
  • Numerical listing
We accept PayPal
With the purchase of more
than 5 CD - your discount
will be 10%. If more than 10 CD - 15%
© 2004 - 2020

Europe RCD - World music CD shop and Classic distribution.

All rights reserved.