čes | eng | fra | deu
Google Translate of English 

Russian and World music CD DVD shop and Classic distribution


Michael Zev Gordon - On Memory - Andrew Zolinsky (piano)

Michael Zev Gordon - On Memory - Andrew Zolinsky (piano)-Piano-Instrumental
ID: NMCD144 (EAN: 5023363014427)  | 1 CD | DDD
Released in: 2009
GORDON, Michael Zev
ZOLINSKY, Andrew (piano)
Other info:

Michael Zev Gordon is Senior Lecturer in Composition at the University of Southampton and Professor of Composition at the Royal College of Music.
Gordon studied composition in the UK with Robin Holloway, Oliver Knussen and John Woolrich, in Italy with Franco Donatoni and in the Netherlands with Louis Andriessen.
Awards include a 2004 Prix Italia for A Pebble in the Pond, an extended radiophonic work on the subject of memory; and winner of the choral category of the 2008 British Composer Awards, for This Night, written for the choir of King’s College, Cambridge.
Andrew Zolinsky won the San Francisco International Piano Concerto Competition in 1998.
The works on this disc span nearly twenty years of Michael Zev Gordon’s output and demonstrate the development and change in his style from the atonal soundworld of Touch to the more recent harmonic, lyrical qualities of On Memory, a series of miniatures inspired by the way our brain conjures up hazy memories. Gordon uses a Couperin keyboard piece, a Bach Sarabande and a fragment from a Klezmer dance as starting points, which provide a brief moment of recognition before tailing off into blurry soundworlds.
GORDON, Michael Zev (b. 1963) 
On Memory 
1. this departing landscape1:50 
2. distant charms3:27 
3. a tango there was4:49 
4. unbitten in the palm4:21 
5. hot moons, cold moons5:16 
6. running down2:25 
7. a space in which one might fall back2:36 
8. past sounds1:29 
9. sepia-coloured... the white mare... far, far down by the stream3:00 
10. tuscan dreams3:18 
11. forbidden fruit4:19 
12. closing cabbalistic chorales4:34 
13. Far Away4:41 
14. High Ground2:09 
15. Crystal Clar0:58 
16. Laid Bare2:28 
17. Touch10:08 


"A wonderful snapshot of music being written in Britain now. Better still, these pieces have been written for us all to play." THE OBSERVER


15.00 eur Buy

Customer: not signed in

Thematic search:
  • Titles
  • Composers
  • Interprets 
  • Ensembles
  • Conductors
  • Instruments
  • Genre
  • Labels
  • Collections
  • Numerical listing
We accept PayPal
With the purchase of more
than 5 CD - your discount
will be 10%. If more than 10 CD - 15%
© 2004 - 2020

RCD - Russian Compact Disk - Russian and World music CD shop and Classic distribution.

All rights reserved.