čes | eng | fra | deu

World music CD DVD shop and Classic distribution


Signs, Games & Messages - Works for Solo Violin by Bartók and Kurtág - Simon Smith

Signs, Games & Messages - Works for Solo Violin by Bartók and Kurtág - Simon Smith-Violin-Instrumental
ID: RES10167 (EAN: 5060262790717)  | 1 CD | DDD
Publi: 2016
Resonus Classics
BARTÓK, Béla | KURTÁG, György
SMITH, Simon (1) (violin)
Pour plus amples dtails:

Simon Smith (violin)
Renowned British violinist and pedagogue Simon Smith makes his Resonus debut with an extraordinary disc of intensely virtuosic works for unaccompanied violin by two Hungarian composers - the late Sonata for Solo Violin by Belá Bartók and Signs, Games & Messages by living composer György Kurtág, who recently celebrated his 90th birthday in 2016.

The idiomatic and skilful writing for solo violin by both of these composers shows the immense range possible on this instrument, taking the performer to the edge of what’s possible. Often lyrical and expressive, often dramatic and atmospheric with folk influences, Simon Smith tackles this repertoire with great dedication and panache.
KURTÁG, György (b. 1926) 
Signs, Games & Messages 
1. Perpetuum mobile (A)0:52 
2. Doloroso1:41 
3. Hommage ? J.S.B.1:20 
4. Hommage ? John Cage1:29 
5. In Nomine - all'ongherese4:52 
6. The Carenza Jig0:44 
7. Perpetuum mobile (B)1:07 
8. Calmo, sognando1:45 
9. Kromatikus feleselős1:05 
10. In memoriam Blum Tamás2:05 
11. Népdalféle0:57 
12. Perpetuum mobile (C)1:02 
13. ... féerie d'automne ...1:34 
14. Mensáros László emlékére0:40 
15. Panaszos nóta1:09 
16. Anziksz Kellerannának0:45 
17. ... für den, der heimlich lauschet ...1:31 
18. Antifóna Hirominak3:20 
BARTÓK, Béla (1881-1945) 
Sonata for Solo Violin, Sz 117. 
19. I. Tempo di ciaccona11:12 
20. II. Fuga5:00 
21. III. Melodia6:48 
22. IV. Presto5:36 


'His thoughtful, sympathetic performances discern the unique qualities of each. [...] Smith’s strong, clear sound is superbly captured in a space that accentuates the disc’s existential aura of one human alone with little but his own consciousness for company.'


18.00 eur Buy

Client: not signed in

Thematic search:
  • Les titres
  • Les compositeurs
  • Les interpretes 
  • Orchestre
  • Chef d'orchestre
  • Instruments
  • Genre
  • Marques
  • Les collections
  • Indice
We accept PayPal
With the purchase of more
than 5 CD - your discount
will be 10%. If more than 10 CD - 15%
© 2004 - 2020

Europe RCD - World music CD shop and Classic distribution.

All rights reserved.